The Oriental Theatre. That's an Argo Tea shop on the right.
There's no such thing as too many corporate logos on an architectural gem.
The Oriental Theatre was built in 1926. The architects were the Rapp brothers, George and Cornelius, designers of many early 20th century American movie palaces. By 1981 the theatre had fallen into serious disrepair and was shuttered for 17 years. The Oriental underwent a complete restoration and reopened in 1998 as the Ford Center for the Performing Arts. (An interior shot.)
The Oriental was built on the site of the deadliest single building fire in American history, the 1903 Iroquois Theatre fire. The Iroquois fire claimed the lives of over 600 people, mostly women and children who were at a December 30th holiday matinee show starring Eddie Foy in the folktale Bluebeard. Touted as a fireproof theater, the Iroquois had opened less than two months before the tragedy occurred. Firefighters extinguished the blaze in about 20 minutes, but by that time the theatre interior had been completely gutted.
Survivors reported that a shorted stage light sparked the fire. A curtain that was supposed to be fireproof was dropped, but the curtain burst into flames. The panicked audience rushed the exits, only to discover that many were locked from the outside. The theatre also featured false decorative doors, further confusing the audience.
In the balcony, patrons found an unlocked fire exit, but the fire escape was missing. In the thick smoke, 120 patrons plunged six stories to their deaths while attempting to escape using that exit.
Nearly all of the actors, musicians and stagehands escaped the deadly inferno by exiting through freight doors behind the stage. But when the large doors were opened, a rush of cold December air ignited a massive fireball that exploded from the stage to the back of the theater instantly killing those in its path.
Among ghost hunters and urban legend enthusiasts, this location is considered the most actively haunted in Chicago